Happy Holidays and Happy New Year
A player lifts their ball to take unplayable ball relief and then discovers it was in an abnormal course condition. May the player still take free relief from the abnormal course condition?
Yes. Since the player has not proceeded under the unplayable ball rule (i.e. the player has not dropped a ball or made a stroke at a ball), the player may still proceed under any other Rule.
Once the player proceeds under a Rule (i.e. drops a ball), the player must continue under the same Rule unless the ball was dropped in a wrong place.
|