|A player’s ball lies close to the putting green and she wishes to putt the ball. There is a pitch mark on the fringe of the putting green on her line of play. May she repair it?|
No. Rule 13-2 prohibits a player from improving or allowing to be improved the position or lie of the ball, the area of his intended swing, his line of play, or the area in which she is to drop or place a ball. In this particular situation the player is prohibited from improving her line of play by eliminating an irregularity of surface (Dec. 13-2/6).
|A player’s tee shot appears to go out of bounds. After all the players in her foursome hit their tee shots she plays another ball without declaring it a provisional ball. She goes forward and finds her original ball in bounds. As she is about to play the original ball, her actions are questioned. What is the ruling?|
If the original ball is neither lost nor out of bounds, the player must abandon the provisional ball and continue playing with the original ball (Rule 27-2c). However, the procedure for playing a provisional ball requires that the player must announce that she intends to play a provisional ball and play it before she or her partner goes forward to search for the original ball. As the player did not announce her intention to play a provisional ball, that ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance and she must continue with the second ball played from the tee. She is lying three. (Rule 27-2).
|A player lifts and drops her ball away from a boundary stake, believing it is an immovable obstruction from which she is entitled to free relief. She makes a stroke at the ball, incurring a two stroke penalty in stroke play or a loss of hole penalty in match play. The player claims that since she dropped the ball in an area permitted by Rule 28, Ball Unplayable, she should only be accessed a single one stroke penalty in either stroke play or match play. How should the Committee rule?|
The player incurs a two stroke penalty in stroke play or a loss of hole penalty in match play for violating Rule 20-7, playing from a wrong place. While a player may deem her ball unplayable at any place on the course other than a water hazard, the declaration must be made before the player takes further action.
|The player inadvertently places the ball when she should have dropped it or drops the ball when she should have placed it. What is the correct procedure?|
If the player has not yet made a stroke at the ball she may lift the ball and proceed correctly under Rule 20-6 (A ball incorrectly substituted, dropped, or placed in a wrong place or otherwise not in accordance with the Rules but not yet played may be lifted, without penalty, and the player then proceeds correctly.) If the player has made a stroke at the ball she incurs a two stroke penalty in stroke play or a loss of hole penalty in match play for violation of Rule 20-7, playing from a wrong place. (Dec. 20-6/1).
|When is a player prohibited from practicing on the competition course?|
Unless a condition of competition exists to the contrary, in match play a player may always practice on the competition course before the round or on any day during a match play competition. Before a round or play-off on any day of a stroke play competition, a competitor must not practice on the competition course or test the surface of any putting green on the course by rolling a ball or roughening or scraping the surface. When two or more rounds of a stroke play competition are to be played over consecutive days, a competitor must not practice between rounds on any competition course remaining to be played, or test the surface of any putting green on such course by rolling a ball or roughening or scraping the surface. The Committee may, in the conditions of a competition (Rule 33-1) prohibit practice on the competition course on any day of a match play competition or permit practice on the competition course or part of the course (Rule 33-2c) on any day of or between rounds of a stroke play competition.