
CLAIMS 

A claim is made when a doubt or dispute between the players occurs in match play.  Unlike stroke 

play, if a player is doubtful of her rights or the correct procedure, she may not complete the play of the 

hole with two balls.  For a claim to be valid, the claimant must notify her opponent (i) that she is 

making a claim and (ii) the facts of the situation. 

The Committee may consider a claim only if it has been made in a timely manner and if the player 

making the claim has notified her opponent at the time (i) that she is making a claim or wants a ruling 

and (ii) of the facts upon which the claim or ruling is to be based.  

A claim is considered to have been made in a timely manner if, upon discovery of circumstances 

giving rise to a claim, the player makes his claim (i) before any player in the match plays from the 

next teeing ground, or (ii) in the case of the last hole of the match, before all players in the match 

leave the putting green, or (iii) when the circumstances giving rise to the claim are discovered after all 

the players in the match have left the putting green of the final hole, before the result of the match has 

been officially announced.  

A claim relating to a prior hole in the match may only be considered by the Committee if it is based on 

facts previously unknown to the player making the claim and she had been given wrong information 

(Rules 6-2a or 9) by an opponent.  Such a claim must be made in a timely manner.  

Once the result of the match has been officially announced, a claim may not be considered by the 

Committee, unless it is satisfied that (i) the claim is based on facts which were previously unknown to 

the player making the claim at the time the result was officially announced, (ii) the player making the 

claim had been given wrong information by an opponent and (iii) the opponent knew she was giving 

wrong information. There is no time limit on considering such a claim.  

A player may disregard a breach of the Rules by her opponent provided there is no agreement by the 

sides to waive a Rule (Rule 1-3).  

 

If the players come to an agreement on the doubtful point or procedure, they are no longer able to 

make a claim.  If the players accept a wrong ruling from anyone other than a member of the 

committee (such as a ranger or a spectator) they are considered to have settled the doubt 

themselves and they are no longer able to make a claim even if that information was incorrect.    



CONCESSIONS 
 

A player may concede a match at any time prior to the start or conclusion of that match.  A player 

may concede a hole at any time prior to the start or conclusion of that hole.  A player may concede 

her opponent’s next stroke at any time, provided the opponent’s ball is at rest.  The opponent is 

considered to have holed out with her next stroke, and the ball may be removed by either side. 

If a hole is conceded, each player is considered to have holed out with her next stroke.  A concession 

may not be declined or withdrawn.  

 

MOST LIKELY SCORE 

If a player starts but does not finish a hole or a stroke is conceded, the USGA’s handicap system 

allows a player to post a score. 

The most likely score is the number of strokes already taken, plus, in the player’s best judgment, the 

number of strokes the player would have taken to complete the hole from that point more than half 

the time. 

The player does not automatically put down the Equitable Stroke Control maximum.  The score 

should be indicated in the scorecard with an “X” proceeding the number.  If the score is more than the 

Equitable Stroke Control maximum, the player would adjust the score at the conclusion of the round.  

This is not to be used for manipulating a handicap. 

A player is laying 3 on the putting green when her next stroke is conceded, her score for the 

match would be 4 (3 strokes she made plus the conceded stroke).  However, her most likely score is 

3 plus the number of strokes she would have most likely taken to complete the hole.  If she is laying 2 

feet from the hole her most likely score would be 4; if she is laying 20 feet from the hole her most 

likely score is 5.  While it is possible she could miss the 2 foot putt or make the 20 foot putt, she most 

likely would have made the 2 foot putt and 2 putted from 20 feet more than half the time.   

As a hole can be conceded or an agreement made to halve a hole anytime during play of the 

hole, the same process is used to determine most likely score.  If the player had taken 2 strokes and 

was 30 feet off the green, her most likely score would be 2 + 1 stroke to chip onto the green + 2 putts 

for a score of 5.  Might she have chipped in?  Yes.  Might she have 3 putted?  Yes.  But the most 

likely score is based on the number of strokes the player would have taken to complete the hole more 

than half the time.  



PROVISIONAL BALL 

 

a. Procedure  

If a ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds, to save time the player may play 

another ball provisionally in accordance with Rule 27-1. The player must: 1--announce to her 

opponent in match play or her marker or a fellow competitor in stroke play that she intends to play a 

provisional ball; and 2--play the provisional ball before she or her partner goes forward to search for 

the original ball.  If a player fails to meet the above requirements prior to playing another ball, that ball 

is not a provisional ball and becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-

1); the original ball is lost.  

b. When Provisional Ball Becomes Ball in Play  

The player may play a provisional ball until she reaches the place where the original ball is likely to 

be. If she makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be 

or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball 

becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).  

If the original ball is lost outside a water hazard the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under 

penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).  

c. When Provisional Ball to be Abandoned  

If the original ball is neither lost nor out of bounds, the player must abandon the provisional ball and 

continue playing the original ball. If it is known or virtually certain that the original ball is in a water 

hazard, the player may proceed in accordance with Rule 26-1. In either situation, if the player makes 

any further strokes at the provisional ball, she is playing a wrong ball and the provisions of Rule 15-3 

apply.  

 

 

STROKE PLAY SITUATIONS WHICH MUST BE CORRECTED 

TO AVOID DISQUALIFICATION 

 

1--Failure to hole out (Rule 3-2) 

2--Stroke from outside the teeing ground when beginning play of hole (Rule 11-4b) 

3--Stroke at a wrong ball (Rule 15-3b) 

4--Play from a wrong place where this gave a player an advantage or put a fellow-competitor at a 

disadvantage (serious breach) (Rule 20-7c) 

5--Partner in foursome stroke play event plays in the wrong order (Rule 29-3)  
 



STROKE PLAY vs MATCH PLAY 
 

 

In Match Play you are playing against an opponent.  In Stroke Play you are playing against the field 

and every competitor in the field has an interest in the results of your play. 

 

MATCH PLAY     STROKE PLAY 

Playing against an opponent   Playing against the course  

18 one-hole contests    1 eighteen-hole contest 

Scoring: by holes (up or down)   Scoring: total strokes made 

Loss of hole penalty     Two-stroke penalty 

Right to know match status    No guarantee of standing 

Concessions permitted     Must hole out    

Overlook breach by opponent    The Rules protect the field 
 


