|The player’s ball is in temporary water at the base of a small bush. Although the ball cannot be played as it lies, the player believes that relief is allowed from the temporary water. She determines the nearest point of complete relief and drops another ball in the one club-length relief area, not nearer the hole than the reference point and plays the dropped ball. Has the player proceeded correctly?|
No. Although the ball is in an abnormal course condition, relief is not allowed under Rule 16.1a(3) when it is clearly unreasonable to play the ball because of something other than an abnormal course condition. As the player moved her ball in play and played from a wrong place the player gets the general penalty for a breach of Rule 14.7a.